3 Real Life Lessons Families Could Learn From Combi Drivers & Conductors

You learn something new everyday if you just pay attention, so I closely paid attention to something some of you get to witness on a daily basis, probably on your way to or from work, school, town and so forth, but may not see any single thing that you are likely to emulate from apart from showing disgust at some of their uncouth behaviors. I hear many people saying their behavior is just the same, that they seem to have been conceived by one person, “vanoita kunge vanhu vakabarwa nemunhu mumwe chete.” I totally understand why people proclaim that, it is merely, because their behavior is more or less the same.

I am talking about combi drivers and their conductors who are also popularly known as “hwindis”…and did I just reminded you of a painful experience you once went through? well, these guys seem very nice whilst you’re still standing outside, but the moment you put your head inside the combi, then they may suddenly take off, leaving you falling and hitting at the back of the combi or falling on some one’s head or lap. Well, I once had a similar experience before. The combi hurriedly took off before I had even sat down, got a bruise on my hand after embarrassingly falling, I got really mad, stopped the combi and I stepped out.

Despite all the bad experiences that you and I have faced in the unsafe hands of most combi drivers and conductors, I also learnt to train my eyes to see that is good. I was able to pick some positives from them that a family could also grasp. You may possibly be telling yourself what positives do I learn from such uncouth characters? Trust me, you will be surprised.

I am learning every day to allow the space between where I am and where I want to be to inspire me, not to terrify me. Hence, I was able to pick up 3 Real Life Lessons That families Could Learn From Combi Drivers and Conductors.

1) Acting As A United Front

A family does not need to be perfect; it just needs to be united.

Many times I have seen combi drivers and conductors acting as a united front. How so? Have you seen how the police find it hard to clamp or arrest those combi drivers during road blocks or when they are loading passengers at undesignated areas “mushika-shika”? It’s because they have their own people who will be on the look out awaiting to give signal of an incoming council or police truck whist they are loading. Many times when inside a combi you see, when drivers passing each other, they give each other signals of a police road block ahead. Whilst stopping at the robots, they give each other way “kutsikirana.” Regardless that combis are plenty and there is bound to be a stiff competition for customers, they don’t set traps to each other , they look after one another, hence giving each other signals and the like.

Many families are divided, some only see each other during funerals, others on weddings and it just ends there. Yes, you may likely not be staying in the same town, or house but I would want to liken families as branches on a tree, they grow in different directions yet their roots remain as one. Must remain as one and united. I enjoy watching Empire. The main acting characters are Lucious Lyon (Terrence Howard) & Cookie (Taraji P. Henson) and for many of you who watch the series, knows the Lyon Family and how they value family and protect each other despite their differences. As a family you should not throw one another under the bus, be united and protect each other.

You should never sacrifice three things in your life; Your Family, Your Heart & Your Dignity.

A family should be a circle of strength; founded on faith, joined in love, kept by God and together forever. A happy family is but an earlier heaven.

2) Every dollar/coin counts (Money Management)

“An accumulation of pennies is a fortune. Day-to-day practice is perfection. A dream realized is nothing more than many steps toward the borders of once impossible.” – Richelle E.Goodrich

For combi drivers and conductors every dollar or cent counts even if you have got 0.25 cents wanting to get into town or work, they will still find somewhere for you to sit, “pa-kadoma” that if passengers do not complain that the combi is full, they will keep on piling you inside.

Calculating how many cents or dollars we spend on mostly unnecessary things during the week, some may probably justify that because it is a $1 or 0.50 cents so it does not really matter. Calculating that total amount at the end of the month you will be surprised or shocked at how much money you could have saved and spend on something bigger and important. As a family every penny should count and be accounted for. Every drop in the ocean counts.

3) Sharing Is Caring 

“Life has taught me that respect, caring and love must be shared , for it’s through sharing that friendships are born.” – Donna A. Favors

Plenty of times I have seen drivers and conductors sharing a plate of sadza or a loaf of bread with freezits or drinks. No-one has ever become poor by giving. So what does that have to say about families? A family is all about Loving, Caring and Sharing. Sharing is caring – teaching our children in our families is teaching them compassion and love.

“Nobody cares about how much you know , until they know how much you care.”- Theodore Roosevelt

Never stop learning because life never stops teaching.

Everyone is my teacher. Some I seek. Some I subconsciously attract. Often I simply learn by observing others. Some may be completely unaware that I am learning from them, yet I bow deeply in gratitude.

Always pray to have the eyes that see the best, a heart that forgives the worst, a mind that forgets the bad, and a soul that never loses faith.

2 thoughts on “3 Real Life Lessons Families Could Learn From Combi Drivers & Conductors

Leave a Reply

